Following is a list of our board members, current as of January 2020. To contact any of our board members, please email us at [email protected]

Reg Johnston, CBRM

Reg is a retired educator and active member of the Glace Bay community. He is also chair of the local Community Health Board (CHB) and is passionate about the benefits of affordable, accessible transportation to his neighbours and community.

Bernard Swann, Halifax

Bernie Swann is recently retired from the provincial Department of Transportation. He has been involved in inclusive/community transportation for over 25 years. His passion for community transportation continued in retirement as a Board Member of Community Transportation Nova Scotia, and now as a board member of the Nova Scotia Community Transportation Network.

Tanya Burke, East Hants

Tanya is the Executive Director of East Hants Community Learning Association (EHCLA)/East Hants Community Rider (EHCR). EHCLA believes in a strong and connected community and through individualized programming, opening doors to education and transportation, and helping to contribute to a more prosperous and proud community. With a hands-on learning approach, and the availability of rural transportation, we are empowering individuals to live with a sense of freedom and confidence. EHCR is committed to delivering safe, affordable, and accessible rides to all those facing transportation challenges in our community, irrespective of age or mobility.

Anne Corbin, Halifax/Queens County

Anne is Executive Director of Community Links, a provincial organization supporting quality of life for Nova Scotia seniors. Transportation remains a key factor.

Gil Johnson, Queens County

Gil is a Regional Councillor with the Region of Queens Municipality, representing the Caledonia area, and is also president of GJ Utility Safety Training and Consulting Services. He has over 35 years experience in Electrical Utility Management and continues to offer humanitarian support following major storm events. Gil is adamant that accessible transportation is basic infrastructure and should be treated and supported like any other utility service.

Nancy Dicks, Pictou County

Nancy currently serves as the Mayor of the Town of New Glasgow. In her capacity as Mayor, she also serves as Vice Chair of the Pictou County Wellness Centre Building Authority Inc. and the Pictou County Shared Services Authority. Nancy has a deep passion in volunteering for the betterment of her community. As a retired teacher, she dedicates her volunteer time with many organizations such as CHAD Transit, Roots for Youth, St. Vincent de Paul, and VON.

Aron Ashton, Ex-offico

Aron was introduced to the NSCTN in its formative years when it was known as Community Transit Nova Scotia. He became involved with NSCTN while working in a CBRM collaborative helping address barriers affecting people being able to commute daily. Aron has been involved in various Community transportation-related initiatives in his former role with Public Health. He continues to remain involved in his current role as  Eastern Zone Manager for the Public Engagement Team supporting Community Health Boards.

Derek Gillis, Halifax

Derek is active in many community groups working toward transportation solutions. He lives nearly car-free in Halifax, averaging less than four hours per month of car use via CarShare HFX. Derek commutes by bicycle, bus, and ferry, and enjoys walking.

Faye Brown, Kings County – Kings Point to Point

Faye has been the Manager of Kings Point to Point Transit Society since 2008. In 2012 she was one of the founding members of the Rural Transportation Association (RTA) and currently is its Treasurer. She also served on NSCTN’s predecessor board from 2011-13. Faye was born and raised in the Kentville area. She has a BSc from Acadia University and has worked most of her life in the Annapolis Valley.

Ellen Johnson – Lunenburg

Ellen works as an Occupational Therapist in private practice in Bridgewater where she supports clients with physical and mental health issues to participate more fully in everyday life. As a person with a disability herself, she understands the barrier that lack of affordable, accessible transportation presents to herself and her clients. She has worked to improve accessibility in work and volunteer roles including advocating for improved transportation options in rural Nova Scotia. Ellen is also currently a member of the Lunenburg County Accessibility Advisory committee.

Ted Hobson – Lunenburg

Ted joined the board in June 2018. After growing up in Halifax he spent 30 years in the Canadian Foreign Service with postings in Pakistan/Afghanistan, Geneva, Paris, Washington, and Saudi Arabia, where he served as Ambassador.After retiring to Mader’s Cove in 2001, he served for 10 years on the Board of Directors of the Mahone Bay Centre, where in 2006 he initiated the Mahone Bay Area Seniors Project, with the objective of promoting “independent and active living in a supportive community”. His other board commitments include: South Shore Helping Hands, Community Links, and Nova Scotia Health Authority’s Patient, Family and Community Advisory Council.